Merry Everything and a Happy Always!

Come December and you start to think about resolutions. Exercise regularly and lose weight or drink more water during the day, early to bed and early to rise or quit smoking, less television or more reading (or both simultaneously), learning a new language and so many more – we’ve all been there, done that. Made resolutions, kept them, broken them, all the works.

This year, I’m having none of that. None of that in the sense that yes, I definitely would aim to start the New Year afresh and try to lead a healthier lifestyle as compared to the year gone by. But then, my resolution would be different – to be happier. I am very happy now, no doubt – a wonderful family, great work and nothing more that I could ask for. But just to make myself happier and more thankful for all that God has bestowed upon me, here is what I’m going to do this coming year.

image

Box” by Tabeajaichhalt is licensed under CC by 2.0

‘This January, why not start the year with an empty jar and fill it with notes about good things that happen? Then, on New Year’s Eve, empty it and see what awesome stuff happened that year.’

I came across this idea yesterday and was so taken in by it that I decided to try it out. Starting January 1, every weekend I am going to put a little handwritten note into the jar, mentioning something good that happened through the week gone by. And exactly one year from now, I’ll open that jar… and share the best of the lot with you all. Till then, Merry Everything and a Happy Always!

Leave a Reply

